Light

Hello Cp31 here right now I am going talk about light.

naturel Vs artificial

Natural light is light that is made in nature. Such as sunlight glow worms and fireflies

artificial light is light that is man-made. Some examples are Fire works Light bulbs Glow sticks Oil

 

 

 

many glow stick shinny with dark background Glow Stick Stock Photo

 

A fact that I did not know before is that there are more than one type of light that there’s not just one.

 

Emitting VS reflecting

 

 

 

Emitting  light means that the thing gives its own light Such as the sun .

 Reflecting  light means something that moves the light into our eyes                                                  Luminous and non luminous objects for grade 3 |#Luminous |#non-luminous objects |#etoddlers - YouTube

 

Luminous means something that makes light.

Non-Luminous means something that doesn’t.

 

A cool fact that I didn’t know is that the moon is non luminous.

 

 

experiment #1

 

In my first experiment, I looked at how light travels. My hypothesis was the light would go through

I think this because it had holes in the middle of each piece of paper.  

 

My procedure was: to cut holes in the paper and make a bullseye.

  1. Got my materials (paper, torch, clay
  2. Poked a hole through the cards. The last one had a X target
  3. I lined up the cards and shined the light through to try and hit the target

 

Here is an image of the experiment

 

My hypothesis was right/wrong because it only hit the last paper for one second  

 

Experiment 2 – What makes a good reflector?

 

Reflection means something that moves the light into our eyes .

Good reflective material includes a mirror.

 

We did an experiment looking at what makes a good reflector. We used different materials such as a mirror a black paper tinfoil and colered paper.

 

Here is a picture of my results table  

 

The best reflector was the mirror Because its shiny.

The worst reflector was black paper Because its dark.

 

Transparent, Translucent, and Opaque

 

 

 

 

 

Refraction

Refraction is the bending of light through different mediums such as (air water)

 

 

Refraction experiments 

#1 (pencil)  the pencil got bigger and looked like it broke.

#2(coin) it got bigger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *